Farash Foundation logo
We care. We give. We honor.

First In Family Scholarship


In 2012, the First in Family Scholarship Program began providing scholarships for students at institutions of higher education in Monroe and Ontario Counties: Finger Lakes Community College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Monroe Community College, Nazareth College, Roberts Wesleyan College, Rochester Institute of Technology, St. John Fisher College, SUNY College at Brockport, and the University of Rochester.

Farash Scholars logo

Supplementing the financial awards to each student from his or her institution, the Foundation is supplying all additional funds needed to completely pay for the Farash Scholar’s tuition, room and board, textbooks, and mandatory fees. The Foundation’s support continues over the course of the students’ college careers, up to five years.

A condition of the scholarship is that all Scholars are required to undertake community service with local nonprofit organizations for the duration of college. Additionally, Farash Scholars are given opportunities to interact with each other--as a group, and at a variety of programs, performances, and sporting events.

“We at the Farash Foundation are heartened by the prospect of helping local students to be the first in their families to gain a college education without enduring the burden of a financial obligation likely to last for decades. We know this will give these scholars brighter, more productive futures—perhaps far beyond their families’ dreams.”

Thomas H. Jackson, Foundation Trustee


Finger Lakes Community College

Marissa Ross 2020
Jovonte Cook 2019
Gabrielle Wilkins 2016*

Hobart and William Smith Colleges

Ayesha Lee 2022
Lea Milyk 2021
Mia Morrison 2019
Sarah Taylor 2018*
Audrey English 2017*
Courtney Franceschi 2016*

Monroe Community College

Dylan Burgio 2020
Miguel Rosario 2019
Ayriona Winston 2018*
Tanisha Dominguez 2017*
Jason Figler 2017*

Nazareth College

Anfernee Daily 2022
Isa Reese 2021
Vy Bui 2020
Duyen Nguyen 2019
Christopher Peterkin 2018*
John Ernst 2017*
Htoo Lar Paw 2017*

Roberts Wesleyan College

Kaycee Viator 2022
Latoya McNish 2021
Andrew Rendsland 2020
Nina Fedorchuk 2019
Kraig Johnson 2018*
London Booker 2016*

Rochester Institute of Technology

Dan Nguyen 2022
Libnah Rodriguez 2021
Robert Graham 2020
Ayriona Winston 2020
Jason Figler 2019
Quyen Pham 2018*
Najua Baaith-Mercado 2017*
Tashae Williams 2016*

St. John Fisher College

Aleysha Dominguez 2022
Mirishahe Beha 2021
Jazlin Garcia 2020
Selena Soto-Castrechino 2019
Tanisha Dominguez 2019
George Roba 2018*
Brian Tran 2018*
James Janowski 2017*
Luis Rodriguez 2016*

SUNY Brockport

Patricia Peters 2022
Zachary Perkins 2021
Ariel Villanueva 2020
Heidi Robles 2019
Layla Tarricone 2018*
Mijana Coric 2017*

University of Rochester

Daimarelys Lara 2022
Rexford Johnson 2021
Andrew Kaseman 2020
Jenny Yau 2020
Mohamed Abdukadir 2019
Henry Le 2016*